top of page

PERIODIC HARLEY DAY-RIDES

"I'd rather be riding my motorcycle thinking about God,

than sitting in church thinking about my motorcycle."

~Unknown

I've always been told that Sunday was the 7th day and a day of rest. When my schedule permits, I make a habit of going on a Harley Day-Ride on Sundays (other days will do) - it's sort of my version of going to church. I love to ride in the mountains, enjoy the scenery, and find some little out-of-the-way place to have breakfast and read the Sunday paper. When possible, it's great to have someone join me on these rides. During my YEAR 77 I plan to publish a separate blog to describe any particularly interesting day-ride I take.

A Little History: I began riding motorcycles in 1978 when I purchased a Honda 250 for riding trails in Big Bear. For many years a bunch of us had tremendous fun riding in the mountains surrounding Big Bear Valley. Art H., Fred & Connie A., Dennie, Merlin, Bill S. (and his kids), and Dale in later years, all participated in these rides. I still have my Honda, but haven't ridden the trails very often in recent years. I'm planning such a ride during my YEAR 77.

I bought my first Harley Davidson motorcycle in 1993 and I have tried to go on frequent day-rides ever since. I enjoy the ride and I also think that frequent riding keeps you aware of all the safety practices that help prevent accidents. The Harley's I've owned are shown below-from the left: A 1994 Heritage Softail Special, a 2006 Road King Classic, and my current ride, a 2014 Street Glide Special.

Click Photo to Enlarge - Use Arrows for Next Photo

I've had an interesting "round trip" regarding day-rides. In late 1993 when I purchased my first Harley I didn't know anyone else that was riding. Until about 1995 I went on my day-rides alone, which was fine - I do many things alone. In about 1995 Dale purchased his first of several Harleys and we began going on rides together. In 2010, Dennie purchased a Harley and he and Dale and I agreed that we would plan a monthly "Harley Breakfast" and a day-ride. Soon their friends Joe Armstrong, Bob Royball, and Alan Cornia began joining us. For about five years we had 5 or 6 of us on most day-rides. Then, in 2014 and 2015, in succession, Joe, Dennie and Dale had accidents on their bikes. Dennie repaired his bike and began riding again. Joe and Dale totaled their bikes, and as of today they are not riding. It's well-known that you can get seriously hurt in a motorcycle accident and I respect their decision not to ride. In the spring of 2017, Dennie and Alison went to Oregon on an LDS mission so I won't be riding with him for another year or so. Bob R's wife won't let him ride since Dale's accident, so I am back to riding alone most of the time. Below are these guys and their bikes - In sequence from left are Dale, Dennie, Joe, Bob and Alan.

Click Photo to Enlarge - Use Arrows for Next Photo

Photos below are from day-rides - from the left: The guy between Dale and I is a California Highway Motorcycle Patrolman that picked us up one day for making an illegal turn. Fortunately he was a good guy and didn't give us a ticket; Next is me, Dale, Dennie and Tracy on the bike; then Dennie, Dale, Me and Bob R.

Click Photo to Enlarge - Use Arrows for Next Photo

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page