top of page

PING PONG - REPEAT OF A MISPLACED ACTIVITY

One of my early ideas when I created my Updated Bucket List for YEAR 77 was to repeat some of the activities I had enjoyed in the past but hadn't done for a long time. Ping Pong is one of those activities. Since I was going to be in Logan in July for the Hadfield Reunion, I thought I would arrange to play a game of ping pong with Gary W., on old friend from school days. We made contact, but haven't yet arranged a time or place to play. As a temporary alternative to ping pong, Bonnie & I met Gary W. & Mildred in Provo and had an enjoyable lunch and visit. We'll work on a time for a ping pong game.

I had also contacted Michael Bowen (he helps us with the Sigma Zonk Scholarship) and asked if he could arrange for me to play a game at the USU Student Center. He graciously complied with my request and we met this morning (Tuesday, July 18) and warmed up the paddles. I'm not sure if he was holding back or not, but we had three really fun and close games. In the end, he won two out of three games to 21. To my chagrin, I lost both of the last two games by missing my serve. Michael B. is a fun guy to visit with and we had a great time visiting and playing.

Photos below from the left: Michael and Ron in action at the USU Student Center; Michael B. and Ron in preparation for the big match; Bonnie & Ron and Gary W. & Mildred having lunch as a temporary alternative to playing ping pong; the image.

Click Photo to Enlarge - Use Arrows for Next Photo

A Little History: Gary W. and I became close friends while attending Logan Junior High. He was a great athlete in everything he tried and I was always trying to keep up with him. Among other things, we played a lot of ping pong at his home and at school, and despite the fact that he always won, I loved to play the game. When preparing the activity list for my YEAR 77 I included ping pong, and I was delighted when I contacted Gary W. and he agreed to meet and play a game. In addition to athletic activities, Gary W. and I double-dated in junior high, he with Mildred and me with Suzanne Richards. There was a famous night at the Cragun home playing "spin-the-bottle" and Gary W. has suggested that I add that activity to my YEAR 77 list of activities. I'm thinking about it.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page