top of page

SPORTS CAR - AND COLLECTOR CARS

"When a habit begins to cost money, it's called a hobby."

~Jewish Proverb

One of the main items on my Original Bucket List was to own a sports car - preferably an Austin Healy. This item requires no action during my YEAR 77, it's just a report. My first car was a 1947 Mercury purchased the day I got my drivers license. During my college days in Utah there were a large number of guys that were driving sports cars, and I don't know the reason, but many of them were Austin Healys. I developed a strong desire to own a foreign sports car, preferably an Austin Healy, and it was an early item on my Bucket List. We moved to California in 1964 and in early 1969 I purchased a new 1968 MGB. It was kind of a "spur of the moment" purchase and I didn't even look for an Austin Healy dealership. I really enjoyed the MGB, but I wanted more power. I had seen a Triumph dealership in Pasadena and in 1972 I purchased a new 1972 TR6. I loved this car, but in 1973 I was offered a job with Hydril Company and part of my compensation was a company car. So reluctantly I sold the TR6. During the late 1980s I was going through some kind of a "Collector Car" crisis and purchased several cars, including a 1976 TR6 which I proceeded to restore. I enjoyed the project and driving the TR after the restoration was complete, but I found I enjoyed riding my Harley even more, so in October 1998 I sold the TR.

Below are photos of my restored 1976 Triumph TR6 and my 1968 MGB (with Grandpa Clyde, Jenny, Tracy and me aboard).

Click Photo to Enlarge - Use Arrows for Next Photo

Below are photos of my other Collector cars, all sold prior to selling the 1976 TR6. The first two photos are of a 1940 Chevrolet Master Deluxe which had only 13,000 original miles (our family car, the Forty, was a Special Deluxe). The photo is at the All California Chevrolet Car Show where we won 1st prize in our category. The third photo is a 1941 Cadillac Series 62 Coupe, and next is a 1922 Maxwell Touring Car. The Maxwell gained some popularity when Jack Benny always had one on his television show.

Click Photo to Enlarge - Use Arrows for Next Photo

Tags:

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page