top of page

MASSAGE - A NEVER BEFORE ACTIVITY


Most people would not view massage as an item for a bucket list, thinking such items should be more like "Visit Paris" or "Climb Mt. Everest" or "Do a Bungee Jump." I must admit that my YEAR 77 Bucket List is a little unusual. It includes many typical items, but also activities that I enjoyed in the past but haven't done for a long time and want to repeat. Also, I'm including in my Blog a number of the memories of some bucket list items that I accomplished years ago, and I'm also including a memorial periodically for certain family and friends. So getting a massage doesn't fit into any specific or typical category -- but it has been on my bucket list for many years, and for some reason I have never got around to doing it. I decided I would clear that item during my Year 77.

I spent the Thanksgiving Holiday in Big Bear with Bonnie and Tracy (and her dogs Dottie & Frankie). Altitudes Massage & Spa is on Moonridge Road not far from our cabin and I decided to talk to them about getting a massage this weekend. Chelsea Redwood and her husband Scott own the Spa. I talked with Scott and made an appointment for 10 am the day after Thanksgiving, Friday November 24th. Below is a photo of the Spa.

Upon my arrival at the Spa on Friday I met Amy, who was assigned to be my therapist. After completing a medical questionnaire, Amy asked if I was interested in a soft, medium, or deep massage, and did I have any special requests. My answer was basically that I didn't know enough about what massage was all about to have any special requests. I just wanted to experience a massage, and hopefully enjoy the experience.

So she led me to a separate quiet room and suggested I undress to my level of comfort while she left the room. Knowing that massage techniques are traditionally performed with the client unclothed, I was comfortable stripping to my birthday suit (I was properly covered at all times during the massage). There was soft music playing and the massage table was warm and comfortable. Amy used a light oil or body lotion to reduce any friction and began the massage with the back of my legs first (including feet), then my back, then the front of my legs, then my arms (including hands), and finally my neck. It seemed obvious to me, even though I'm not experienced in this area, that Amy knew what she was doing and was good at it. We talked during the massage and I feel she gave me a good beginning education on how I should keep my muscles in shape in the future.

I have to admit that I didn't realize how tight my muscles are. I exercise regularly and always stretch along with exercise. But there were times during the massage when it was downright painful. Not painful to the extent that I asked for less pressure, but a "good painful" if there is such a thing. The session lasted for an hour and I truly enjoyed the experience. I'm not sure how regular I will have massage sessions in the future, but this won't be my last one for sure.

The information below was taken from the Altitudes Massage & Spa website. It's a long list of benefits, but after today's experience I'll bet most people will find most of these benefits if they have massage regularly.

Benefits of Massage

Almost all healthy people have some condition that can be improved by massage. Experts estimate that upwards of ninety percent of disease is stress-related. And perhaps nothing ages us faster, internally and externally, than high stress. Massage is an effective tool for managing this stress, which translates into:

-Decreased anxiety.

-Enhanced sleep quality.

-Greater energy.

-Improved concentration.

-Increased circulation.

-Reduced fatigue.

Massage can also help specifically address a number of health issues:

-Alleviate and improve range of motion and low-back pain

-Ease medication dependence.

-Enhance immunity by stimulating lymph flow—the body’s natural defense system.

-Exercise and stretch weak, tight, or atrophied muscles.

-Help athletes of any level prepare for, and recover from, strenuous workouts.

-Improve the condition of the body’s largest organ—the skin.

-Increase joint flexibility.

-Lessen depression and anxiety.

-Promote tissue regeneration, reducing scar tissue and stretch marks.

-Pump oxygen and nutrients into tissues and vital organs, improving circulation.

-Reduce postsurgery adhesions and swelling.

-Reduce spasms and cramping.

-Relax and soften injured, tired, and overused muscles.

-Release endorphins—amino acids that work as the body’s natural painkiller.

-Relieve migraine pain.

-Strengthens the immune system

-Massage increases body awareness and promotes deeper & easier breathing

-Relieves headaches, menstrual cramps & backache

-Promotes overall calmness & relaxation

-Promotes healthier skin

-Improves posture

-Assists in the removal of toxins from the muscles and enhances sport performance

-Provides greater range of motion and flexibility

-Promotes more restful sleep

-Reduces stiffness and muscle spasms

-Reduced anxiety and improved mood, Reduced nor epinephrine levels (stress hormones)

-Less back pain

A Little History: I have really never known anything about massage. I've always thought of it as a good "back rub" and I always enjoyed a back rub if I could ever get anyone to do it. As my three daughters were growing up I would periodically convince them to give me a back rub. As Jenny got old enough to realize I was getting the best of the deal, Tracy came along. Then Tracy wised up, but there was Heather to take over (for a short while). It's been almost 40 years since I could convince the girls I needed a back rub, and I've never had one since. When I was working downtown Los Angeles during the 1970s and 1980s I was a member of the Jonathan Club. The Club had a masseur and I always planned to have a massage there at the Club, but never did.

Post Script: Having experienced a "real" massage today (November 24, 2017) I now understand that a massage is much more than a "back rub."

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page